Advisory Council 2017-09-03T19:31:41+00:00

Advisory Council

NYSTEEA Advisory Council

Purpose of The NYSTEEA Advisory Council 

  1. The Advisory Council provides the NYSTEEA with recommendations, direction, expertise, and support but does not set policy.
  2. Recommends ways to resolve any discrepancies between programs and philosophies of technology education and current industrial/technological practices.
  3. Reviews / recommends content direction and student survey topics to improve the relevancy and validity of technology education.
  4. Suggest methods and strategies for improving the public’s perception and understanding of technology education.
  5. Assist in the cooperation between and among industry, higher education, secondary education, The N.Y.S. Board of Regents, State Education Department, local school boards, fields of engineering and engineering technology, politicians, areas of business. technology education related vendors, etc…

Recent Advisory Council Recommendations:  

  • Create and administer a middle school student survey
  • Create and administer a high school student survey
  • Improve the student surveys wherever possible and administer them on an ongoing basis
  • Develop a sub-committee to determine how to promote diversity in technology education
  • Pursue a NYSTEEA Corporate Membership initiative
  • Write a position paper supporting T.E. instruction in NYS


2011 – 2012 Advisory Council Members
(Listed Alphabetically)
David Arnone – President New York State Council of Educational Associations, (NYSTEEA) Past President
Margaret Ashida, Director, Empire State STEM Education Initiative based at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Judith Belt, Professor – SUNY Oswego Technology Education Department
Robert Bundy, Superintendent of Schools – Chenango Forks CSD
Dr. David Burghardt, Hofstra University Engineering and Co-Director Center For Technological Literacy
Dr. Craig Clark, Executive Director of the Wellsville Campus -Dean of the School of Applied Technology at Alfred State College.
Darren Coon, President and CEO of Teacher Geek, Inc. based in Brockport, New York
Philip Dettelis,   Technology Education Associate, New York State Education Department (NYSED)
Sal Emanuel, Past President, New York State School Counselors Association, and also of the Jamaica Central Schools
Ellen Falk, Association of Math Teachers for New York State, North Salem Central School District
Michael Fry, President, New York State Technology and Engineering Educators Association (NYSTEEA)
Michael Glasgow – Engineering Professor, Broome Community College
Charles Goodwin, DTE – Chairperson, NYSTEEA Advisory Council, (NYSTEEA) Past President
Gwendolyn Maturo-Grasso, Technology Alliance of Central New York, English Language Arts Master Teacher Syracuse City School District
Clark Greene, Coordinator Department of Technology at Buffalo State College, (NYSTEEA) Immediate Past President
Michael Hacker, Researcher/Author – Hofstra University, Co – Director Center for Technological Literacy
Dr. Mark Hardy, Chairperson – Technology Education Dept. SUNY Oswego
Robert Hazen – Past President Association of Math Teachers in New York State (AMTNYS) Webmaster for the NYS STEM Education Collaborative.
Dr. Bruce King, Professor (Retired), New York Institute of Technology (NYIT)
Robert Lasch – Coordinator Applied Technologies, Monroe Community College
Dr. Kelly Ligeikis, PE – Dean of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math Division at Broome Community College
Alta Jo Longware – Executive Secretary and Past President of NYSTEEA
Dr. Steve Macho, Professor – Technology Education – Buffalo State College
Terry McSweeney, Research and Education Services at New York State United Teachers (NYSUT)
Dr. Mel Morris – Office of Educational Programs, Brookhaven National Labs.
Peter J. Myles, Director of Personnel & Human Resources – Oswego City School District
Michael Nehring, Professor – SUNY Oswego Technology Education Department
Kelly Norris – Executive Director of the New York State Society of Professional Engineers.
Dr. Godfrey Nwoke, Professor and Chairperson  New York City College of Technology (CUNY).
Timothy Ott, Assistant Director Career and Technical Education – Center for Technical Assistance.
William Ottman – Director of Science and Technology, Syracuse City School District.
Fred Pidgeon, President of the Science Teachers Association of New York State (STANYS)
Dr. Greg Pitonza, Northeastern District V.P. for New York State Technology and Engineering Educators Association (NYSTEEA)
Dr. Travis Plowman – Professor of Technology at the College of St. Rose, Albany, NY
Frank Roma, PE, New York State Society of Professional Engineers and NYSSPE STEM Education Liaison for the NYS STEM Education Collaborative.
Adam Seelig, Vice President, New York State Technology and Engineering Educators Association (NYSTEEA)
Susan Sherwood, Director of the Center for Technology and Innovation /TechWorks in Binghamton, New York
Dr. Stanley Silverman – Professor / Director Technology Based Learning Systems of New York Institute of Technology (NYIT)
Eric Suhr, Bureau Chief – Career and Technical Education – New York State Education Department (NYSED)
Dr. Ronald Todd, Researcher and Author, Professor of Technological Studies College of New Jersey.
Theresa Tuers, Associate Project Manager, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA)
Robert Tufte, President- Elect New York State Technology and Engineering Educators Association (NYSTEEA)
William Youngfert, Education Consultant, Past President (NYSTEEA)
Joseph Zahra, Educational Consultant and independent sales representative, New York City Area.
Edward Zak, Visiting Professor, Technology Education at SUNY Oswego, (NYSTEEA) Past President


NYSTEEA Advisory Council History:


Established during the Fall

1993 – 94

Chaired by Chuck Goodwin

1994- 95

Chaired by Bill Youngfert

1993 – 96

Political Support was provided through NYSTEEA’s paid Lobbyist Mary Ann McClain


Held a Summit on Technology Education in Albany at Shaker Middle School.

1995 – 2002

Advisory Council did not meet


NYSTEEA Advisory Council is re-established.


Chaired by Chuck Goodwin


Advisory Sub Committee created ” Action Committee For Promoting Diversity in Technology Education” Chaired by SUNY Oswego’s Donna Matteson